Middletown, N. J. – Duncan Keith of the Chicago Blackhawks was not a very happy camper last night.
After his team dropped a 3-1 decision to the Vancouver Canucks, Keith was approached by Team 1040 radio reporter, Karen Thomson and was asked specifically about a goal scored by the Canucks Daniel Sedin.
Keith appeared to have swung his stick, striking the Vancouver superstar in the back as the puck crossed the goal line.
Seemingly suffering from short term memory loss, it all started out innocently enough but quickly turned sour and ended up with Keith making a remark he might end up regretting.
Video courtesy of Chris Kuc and the Chicago Tribune…
Here is the text conversation from the link here…..
Thomson: “Can you talk about what happened after the Daniel Sedin goal?”
Keith: “Which one was that one?
Thomson: “The third goal.”
Keith: “The third one? Well, we scored one goal after that I think and the
game ended 3-1.”
Thomson: “Right after the goal when you were on the ice with Daniel. Right after he scored. You remember?”
Keith: “I went off the ice and took a minus. I don’t know. What are you talking about?”
Thomson: “Nothing. Just checking.”
Keith: “What did you see?”
Thomson: “It looked like maybe there was a penalty that went undetected. You seemed a bit frustrated.”
Keith: “Oh, no. I don’t think there was anything. I think he scored a nice goal. The ref was right there. That’s what the ref saw. We should get you as a ref maybe, eh?”
Thomson: “Yeah, maybe.”
Keith: The first female … ”
Thomson: “I can’t skate, though.”
Keith: “The first female referee. You can’t play probably either, right? But you’re thinking the game like you know it? Okay, see ya.”
Let your voice be heard. Vote below on whether you feel Duncan’s comments were appropriate or not.