Islanders Get Hosed By The Refs In Pittsburgh
It’s only been 20 minutes and the Islanders are already getting hosed by the referees. Waiving off a goal in the closing seconds of the first period.
In our pre-game post for tonight’s Islanders game against the Penguins, we warned the boys to look out for Sidney Crosby. With a shot to the groin and lacerating Marc Methot’s finger last night, he’s a real danger.
But we didn’t consider the refs would be the ones we had to look out for. (Well, we kinda did. But we didn’t think it would happen this way).
In the dying seconds of the first period, Jason Chimera throughs a no-look back pass as he’s pinned against the board. The pass sails across Fleury’s crease and onto the waiting stick of a streaking Brock Nelson. Who made no mistake.
But then Mike Sullivan calls a coaching challenge on the play for goaltender interference. Here’s the goal:
The Actual Rule
But after a quick review, the refs called it a no-goal. Surprisingly. They, the refs, thought that Alan Quine had interfered with Marc-Andre Fleury.
Look at the play again and you’ll see that Quine is in fact pushed into Fleury, ever so slightly. So yeah, there’s contact. But it wasn’t due to the actions of Quine.
What does the actual rule state?
"Incidental contact with a goalkeeper will be permitted, and resulting goals allowed, when such contact is initiated outside of the goal crease, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact."
That was from the NHL’s own rule book.
On that reading alone the goal should have stood. But low-and-behold the goal was rescinded by the refs. Who are looking like an extension of the Penguins roster by the day.
Next: Lest We Forget - JF Berube
Hopefully, this referee nonsense doesn’t last past the opening 20 minutes. The Isles need the two points to stay in the playoff race.