Celebrating 50 years of NY Islanders Hockey With the All-Decade Team: 1982-1991

Three Islanders
Three Islanders / B Bennett/GettyImages
1 of 7

As we head into the second decade of NY Islanders hockey, the franchise continued its dominance winning another two Stanley Cups until finally being dethroned by Wayne Gretzky and the Edmonton Oilers.

Head Coach Al Arbour lead the team to 19 straight playoff series victories between 1980 and 1984. A record that stands to this day and may never be broken.

In the late 80s, the Islanders see a changing of the guard as the greats from the dynasty era retire, passing the torch onto new, younger talent. Later in the decade, the club struggles to find the success of their predecessors, yet make a name for themselves in their ownchapter of Islander history.

*Note: A player cannot be named in multiple all-decade teams. for example, Mike Bossy cannot be selected for 1972-1981 and 1982-1991.