NY Islanders legend Mike Bossy was determined to win the 1982 Conn Smythe Trophy

Mike Bossy Awarded 1982 Conn Smythe Trophy
Mike Bossy Awarded 1982 Conn Smythe Trophy / IslandersPride

42 years ago, the New York Islanders became a dynasty, sweeping the Vancouver Canucks with a 3-1 win in Game 4 to capture their third consecutive Stanley Cup. As is the case in every championship run, several players came up big in clutch moments, but in the spring of 1982, Hall-of-Famer Mike Bossy stood out the most, capturing the Conn Smythe Trophy.

Bossy scored goals in 12 of the Islanders' 19 playoff games that postseason, including the game-winner with just two seconds left in overtime of Game 1 as the Islanders rallied to defeat the upstart Canucks 6-5 at the Nassau Coliseum. Bossy also scored the game-tying goal in the third period.

He was remarkable all post-season, but especially against Vancouver in the four-game sweep. Bossy became the first player since 1970 (Johnny Bucyk) to score in every Stanley Cup game. His seven goals in the Final matched the NHL record at the time for the modern era (post 1943-44). If that wasn't enough, his backhand goal while falling down to the ice with both skates in the air in Game 3 is recognized as one of the greatest playoff goals of all time and an iconic moment in his career.

Some players dismiss the idea of craving individual awards and accolades, but not Bossy. He was well aware of his success during the 1982 Stanley Cup Playoffs and was thrilled to win the Conn Smythe, a triphy he thought he deserved the previous year as well.

"I sure am glad I won it," Bossy said after the game when presented with the trophy. "Last year, I thought I had a chance. The team won. I was a little bit disappointed that I didn't get to win it, but I was very glad that we won the Stanley Cup. That's our first concern and main concern, but I'm sure glad that this came along with it."

Bossy led all players with 17 goals, tying his own franchise record set the previous season and had at least one point in 17 of the 19 games. Bryan Trottier, the winner of the 1980 Conn Smythe was the only player with more points that post-season with 29 (6G, 23A), aided by Bossy's greatness.