Unforgettable moments in NY Islanders All-Star history

Feb 1, 2024; Toronto, Ontario, CANADA; New York Islanders Mathew Barzal speaks to the media during
Feb 1, 2024; Toronto, Ontario, CANADA; New York Islanders Mathew Barzal speaks to the media during / Nick Turchiaro-USA TODAY Sports

The NHL All-Star Game has long been a part of the hockey world, with today's game being the 74th rendition of the league's best facing off against one another. Entering the league in 1972, the NY Islanders have had their fair share of memorable moments in the mid-season classic. Here are some of the best Islanders moments in All-Star-Game history.

Billy Smith wins MVP

Before the Islanders won any of their four Stanley Cups and just six seasons into their existence, Billy Smith took home the Islanders' first All-Star Game MVP award. Starting the game for the Campbell Conference, Smith didn't allow a goal in 29:26, stopping all 16 shots he faced. The Campbell Conference lost 3-2 in OT, but Smith was crowned MVP on the night.

Mike Bossy wins MVP

Perhaps the greatest goal scorer to ever grace the game, Mike Bossy appeared in seven All-Star Games, winning MVP in 1982. With head coach Al Arbour behind the Wales Conference bench, Bossy scored two goals, including the game-winner in a 4-2 victory.

The NY Islanders host their first All-Star Game

After winning three straight Stanley Cup titles, the Islanders hosted their first and only All-Star Game in 1983 at Nassau Coliseum. Four Islanders were selected to represent the Wales Conference: Mike Bossy, Bryan Trottier, Denis Potvin, and Dave Langevin. The Wales Conference lost 9-3, with no Islander recording a point and Wayne Gretzky winning MVP.

Bryan Trottier OT winner

Heading into OT knotted up at three, Bryan Trottier and Bossy stepped onto the ice for the Wales Conference, where Trottier ultimately ended the game, scoring 3:05 into OT. Bossy received the primary assist on the night - in what was his final All-Star appearance.

John Tavares scores four goals

The league went to a draft style in 2015, with Nick Foligno and Jonathan Toews as the two team captains. Selected to Team Toews, John Tavares found the back of the net four times, becoming the sixth player in NHL history to do so. The game was the highest-scoring game of all time, as Team Toews won 17-12.